CrazyBoards.org

Started a class, dropped because of stress

Last week I started an EKG class (the strip that shows your heart action). It was 5 sessions, 5 hours each. I made it through 2 sessions and then the stress of studying for the test made me drop it. There was a test on week 3, and no matter how much I studied, I just couldnt learn it all. I went through RN school about 15 years ago and had to learn all of this then, While I dont remember much of it, I have had exposure to the material.

I am in the process of appealing my SSDI benefits, so it is probably a good thing I couldnt complete the class as it shows I cant handle stress.

I am sort of bummed out because I cant accomplist learning. I had sort of toyed with the idea of finishing my masters, slowly, while I am on disability, but it sounds like I shouldnt waste my money.

I've been there. I know it's tough, but you have to protect your mental health first and foremost. Hopefully, you will some day get stable enough to be able to finish your Master's. No need to doom yourself already by saying that you'll never be able to do it. Just now is not the time.

Edit: Are you seeing a therapist? Perhaps you could work on some coping skills to learn to deal with stress.

Edited by jt07

I am sorry to hear that you are bummed out--not remembering information is frustrating.  I also have a hard time retaining information, but fortunately my program involves mostly take home exams and papers, so I can refer to information rather than memorizing.  I'm sorry you're going through this.