CrazyBoards.org

Sign in to follow this  
chickenonaraft12

Going back to college after 3 years of working

Tuesday I start taking college courses again after taking a hiatus following my first year in college (money, mental health, lots of reasons). And I'm kind of excited, but mostly terrified at the thought.

I know it would be really dumb, but part of me really wants to just say "Screw it. I'm dropping the classes" and continue on with my uneducated life. But I know I need school in order to actually go where I want to go. 

I'm only taking 2 classes (Psychology and a Microsoft class) but already they look like they're gonna be tough. Or at least tougher than I've been used to these last few years. Though I was an honors student in high school so I feel like I can do it.

I dunno. Hopefully someone else can relate. 

I start classes on Tuesday as well. If I make it through this semester it will be the first time I've completed a semester since spring 2010. I delayed going to college and then had to leave part way through my first year, so I'm starting over. I'm also both excited and terrified. I've been having trouble lately with SI and I think it's an attempt at self-sabotage; I am so afraid of having to leave school again that part of me wants to quit before I even start.

I am so afraid of having to leave school again that part of me wants to quit before I even start.

^^^^^^ This ^^^^^^^

My last semester was Spring of 2011-- I'd only finished one year. 

If you worked for 3 years then I am confident that you can handle it taking 2 classes. Academia is much more forgiving for us MI folks than the business world. Have you checked in with your campus disability office? That could help you get some special allowances in the future should you need it.