CrazyBoards.org

Anybody else here on schizophrenic spectrum live with your parents

How does your family function with your dx? It is very hard. They get tired of all the same bs that is associated with it. They think it ruins the peace of the household. However, they love me.

Do you all get along? Sometimes. When I am in a mood we do not. When I am semi sane we function fine as a family and get along and actually have good times.

Do your parents give you privacy? Yes. They never invade my privacy

Do your parents want you out of the house? They would prefer me be out on my own but since I am a student they are allowing me to stay with them. Sometimes though when I am in an episode they threaten to kick me out. Its just a threat though.

Do your parents charge you rent? No, I am supposed to be paying my car insurance and cell phone bill, but I slip under the radar somehow, lol.

How do you like living with your parents? I love it. I cant live alone. And I fear the future when I will have too. Last time I lived alone I didn't shower for a month, the apartment was a wreck, and I was very mentally ill. I was sent IP and my mom came and cleaned up the apartment top to bottom. I love spending the holidays here. I just love the company. Even though we sometimes don't get along.

Yes, I do.

How does your family function with your dx? Not very well. My parents think I'm "crazy" when I go into a state, and we wind up arguing a lot.

Do you all get along? Usually. Sometimes we have fights, and usually it's over my delusions.

Do your parents give you privacy? My mom read my journal, so...

Do your parents want you out of the house? I'm a minor, so not yet.

Do your parents charge you rent? Nope.

How do you like living with your parents? It's fine. I can't wait to get out of the house, though.

I currently don't live with my parents, but if you don't mind I can answer these questions, remembering when I lived with them.