CrazyBoards.org

Anxiety, responsibilities and excuses?

So I'm a college student with severe anxiety disorder undergoing a pretty difficult time this semester. I knew from past experiences that for me, I need plenty of sleep and some chill time to prevent me from relapse, and I thought I was balancing it pretty well. I have disability accommodations with flexible homework deadlines and was relying heavily on that to go by.

However, increasingly, I feel like all these things I thought I did just to make sure I stay mentally sane seem like an excuse to avoid responsibilities. Yes homework is stressful and my grades are just passable; I'm enrolled in a very competitive program at a top 20 university in the U.S., and there are multiple deadlines for every course every week. Yet I feel like I exploited the advantages given to me. I feel like I could probably finish more work on time, get better grades if I study more, but I'm just using my anxiety to falsely justify my needs, and using the accommodations as a safety net for my procrastination and irresponsibility.

Also sometimes I feel like I exaggerate my conditions just to get people's attention and kindness, but I feel like I'm somewhat guilt tripping them and making them feel bad. And sometimes I wish I'm in a worse mental state so I can avoid all these responsibilities piling up on me because I can attribute my inability to my anxiety but not myself.  And now these things are stressing me out and causing me anxiety :/

How do you know if you're crossing the line between maintaining your mental health and taking advantages of the kindness and forgiveness of others?  Is it common for someone recovering to wish/show like they don't want to get better? Anyone comments appreciated.

*sorry for my English it's not my first language 

Your English is perfect, nothing to apologize for.