CrazyBoards.org

Hi, 

I just joined and am new to the forum. Not only am I new to the forum, but I'm also new to Schizophrenia and psychosis. I'm 19, quite young. Last month my life was ruined, I was hospitalized because I was delusional and hearing voices. I'm a lot better now thanks to (a very low dose of medication. 2mg of risperdal), but my self-esteem is in ruins. The episode was very sudden and I lost my job because of it. Not only my job, but a lot of things.. It was my second psychotic episode. but the first time I was ever hospitalized for it. The first time I wasn't hospitalized, and took the whole experience very lightly. I thought it was a one time thing, but I was wrong. I thought I could just take some medication for a short period of time and it would go away. It did, but eventually it came back. How? Why? The me then didn't know I would be dealing with another psychotic episode. I thought I didn't need the medication, but I can't believe that I do. I don't even know why these episodes happened. Was it caused by the few times I smoked marijuana back in high school? I doubt it... Then, I just had a Major Depression diagnosis, but now since I was hospitalized I received a schizophrenia diagnosis. My parents and private doctor disagree with it. I'm able to function fine, and even when I was experiencing psychosis I didn't have any problems. Could it be an acute form of schizophrenia? I'm not hearing anything anymore...Whatever it is/was, I'm not sure how to pick myself up from this kind of thing, The first time I had an episode (or breakdown) was different. I was able to recover quite fast. I think the hospitalization traumatized me in some way. This whole experience has been devastating and I need someone to talk to or some advice. How does one pick themselves up after this kind of thing? What do I do? 

Edited by Lsg615

Hi,