CrazyBoards.org
Sign in to follow this  
crazyguy

is there any med that helps for apathy, emotional numbness and anhedonia?

I am struggling with emotional blunting, lack of motivation, no pleasure from anything or interest in engaging with anybody/anything.  Google tells me this is classic "anhedonia".  Also have some classic depression symptoms I guess; fatigue, suicidal thoughts, no confidence, etc.... but no real 'sad' feeling.

The emotional blunting and feeling numb (no ups or downs) is what is the killer.  Has anyone found a treatment or medication that is good for this?    I'm not even getting enjoyment from food or exercise like I used to.  :huh:

My thinking is really disordered so sorry for the jumbled post. 

Prozac helps me out with this.  If I try to go off of prozac (per ok of pdoc), I can always tell when it is low in my system.  I also get very weepy when I am off of Prozac.  Wellbutrin helps too, but I've noticed prozac helps the most.

Note: I'm not a doctor, but this is a pet issue of mine so maybe I can help. Also, typing on my phone, so it might be hard to read.

So okay.

Apathy is such a bitch, and it seems like one of the least talked about symptoms. That may be because of how easy it is to assume that listlessness is just 'part of depression' and dismiss it.

SSRI-Induced Indifference is a real thing, and it's a big fucking deal, but it doesn't have much hard research to pin down its specifics, at least not yet. Before I realized that SSRIs caused it, I trialed at least a dozen medications and just thought it was how I was 'supposed' to feel. (Indifferent instead of sad.)

The first recommendation for patients with SSRI-Induced Indifference is switching from an SSRI (like prozac, celexa, paxil, and zoloft) to an SNRI (like cymbalta, pristiq, effexor, and fetzima) in the hope that the additional norepinephrine shift will overcome the apathy.