CrazyBoards.org

I've been really irritable these past few days.  Yesterday was my first day on 50mg, and today, Im so irritable, I almost can't stand myself.  Everything my husband or kids do, make me want to scream.  Also, Im really antsy.  Im bored and want to do something, but don't want to go anywhere or do anything, if that makes any sense.  If this is from the Lamictal, will it get better?  Or is this medicine not for me?

Is this mania?  Hypomania?  Im new to this bipolar thing (havent even been officially diagnosed, but my tdoc thinks I am, my pdoc isn't sure yet).  I see my pdoc on Monday, so I'll discuss this with him.

Hi WW.

I can't really parse out from your symptoms whether you are in a mixed state or not.  Too hard for my brain at the moment, so I'll tackle the easy discussion.

- A side effect that is reported by a number of our members (myself included) yet isn't documented in the PI sheets, is that of having irritability during Lamictal start up.

-  It seems that as I got into the effective range, 50 - 100mg, that I became rather irritable, possibly antsy or restless, and had the definite tendency to blow up at family/others over insignificant issues. I had to work very hard to keep under control, but thankfully I would get over things in, say 20 minutes, and be back to normal, the incident forgotten. This tapered over about a month and was most entirely gone in about 2 months. The only time I came close to losing it and starting a fight was over some guys making noise in the library while I was reading. 

Hang in there. I hope you will find that all the annoyances of starting Lamictal are worth it in the long run.

A.M.

I am just usually a bitch who hates everyone and everything, so starting Lamictal was par for the course.