CrazyBoards.org

"Normal" BP Mood Chart?

I just started keeping an actual mood chart on moodtracker.com. I've never done it before and I've been DXed since I was 7 (am now 27).

This is the pattern: mildly depressed for 2 days, baseline for 2-3 days, mildly elevated for 2 days, baseline 2 days, depressed 2 days...!!!

Is it "normal" to have these shifts, even on meds? Is this what BP1 looks like when surpressed, or should it be surpressed more? Do you think I should talk to my pdoc about more or different meds?

PS- I started taking meds when I was 18. Prior to that my rapid cycling was severe I tend to have "crap within crap" as I put it. For example, I'll be in a general mania, but have lessening and worsening of the mania over a period of months, so cycling within a cycle. Same with depression. Right now I'm experiencing true variation on the baseline and I'm not operating within a larger mood disturbance.

(I agree, BTW, there is no such thing as a 'normal' chart, not even for normal folks, let alone anyone with bipolar)

I like this. 

I don't have extensive experience in dealing with this, so I don't have much of my own to add.  I've long looked over college syllabi and complained "why don't they have a course in normal psychology?"  Normalcy's a rare bird, indeed.  No one will ever have a steady mood chart with blips of 0... 0... 0... day after day.  If I ever meet a person who does, I think I'll kill and stuff them for display in my macabre museum of the strange. 

Missing the point entirely?  Probably.  But hello!  And good luck!  And I'm amazed at you for being so consistent!  11 days straight is beyond me.  I grovel at your feet.

I don't know that it's really a question of normal.

It seems to me like it's a question of how you function.  If small cycling is what you get and it isn't disturbing you in any way, then yay!

If it bothers you, or it doesn't feel right, or it makes your life suck, then it needs to change.