CrazyBoards.org

mood fluctuations within hypomanic episode?

I’m new to CB but have been lurking for the past couple of weeks. I was hoping to compare experiences of hypomania, since I’m apparently not very good at recognizing my own symptoms and can’t whether or not I’m still hypomanic.

Background: I have a long and complicated mental health history, including a BP-NOS diagnosis from my late teens (I’m now in my late 20s) that I had until recently believed to be false. What’s relevant at the moment is that I’ve starting seeing a psychiatrist and CBT therapist for OCD, and in the course of taking SSRI’s for the OCD became hypomanic. Before starting this course of treatment I rejected the bipolar label, but having my hypomania pointed out forced me to realize that I experience this kind of mood with relative frequency, and have in the past simply considered this my ideal state of mind.

My question is how much your mood and sleep tend to vary during a hypomanic state. After a week of hypomania, which ramped up to extreme, near delusional OCD/anxiety last week, my mood flattened out over the weekend. Now I’m back to sleeping less (trouble falling asleep without benzos, and even with them waking up around 4:30am), my mind feels sharp as a tack, and I’m talking/laughing more than usual (I think?). I’ve just finished tapering off the SSRI and am starting Lamictal, so I just assumed the sleep issue was a side effect. Now I’m not so sure (my psychiatrist thinks I’m still hypomanic, but my therapist was surprised when I told her this). I don’t really know what to think anymore. Is it common for mood to fluctuate within an episode?