CrazyBoards.org

My confession

I'm new to SI. I guess this is part of my honesty program and acknowledging the things wrong with me that I have denied before. I'm at the point where I need to address myself--all myself--and not hide from truth anymore.

I don't know if this is ok to ask, but why do you all do it? I'm curious. You see I do it not to feel pain, but to let the pain out. I'm the opposite of numb. I'm like that throbbing exposed root of your tooth that aches and keeps you up all night. I feel things to the point of being unable to escape from the feeling....the pain. And when that happens, that's when I SI. I'm not doing major damage but it's a new thing for me and it's worrying me. It's like, there's so much pain inside that crying doesn't help--nothing helps but SI because it's somehow letting the pain flow from me...like a dam letting water through when the pressure builds up.

I read some stuff that people who are numb do it to feel, but I do it to stop feeling--to release the neverending pain.

Would anyone like to talk about Si and why they do it and how they feel? I know after I've done something I don't feel ashamed...I do mine where it can't be easily seen. I don't feel bad even that I do it either...I just know that I have an overflowing of pain inside and it needs to be released.

During my abuse, I was being hurt and comforted simultaneously.

Now it is comforting to hurt myself.

It makes me calm, comforted, a little numb, back in control.

Edited by Stickler

My self harm has generally been about being so overwhelmed by feelings that hurting myself is the only way to make it stop.

Being a maochist and all, for me it's a bit diffrent, I don't really hate myself. It's that pain, that rush.

I don't know if you're specifically referring to sexual masochism here, but if you are, that is not the same as self injury.