CrazyBoards.org

Xanax vs. Ativan

Thinking of asking my pdoc to switch me to Ativan instead of Xanax.  I am taking it on a as needed basis for anxiety and anxiety attacks, both of which are becoming more and more frequent and intense.  I have a friend that has the same problem and she is taking Ativan. I don't like Klonopin and have never tried Valium.  I need something that works fast.

Pros and Cons for each?

I've taken both and I like them both.

I took Ativan everyday for a couple of months, so I have no experience on using it on a as needed basis. It helped a lot with my nighttime anxiety and I also slept very well. Didn't make me a zombie like Xanax tends to do sometimes...

Xanax on the other hand I still use for emergencies. Very reliable relief from panic attacks and heavy anxiety. The con is that I get so, so tired and unable to do anything. So if you still want to, i don't know, FUNCTION, then maybe Ativan would be a better option.

What doses of Xanax and Ativan are we talking here?

I've taken both and I like them both.

I took Ativan everyday for a couple of months, so I have no experience on using it on a as needed basis. It helped a lot with my nighttime anxiety and I also slept very well. Didn't make me a zombie like Xanax tends to do sometimes...

That's so funny, how it affects folks differently, and a good point of YMMV. I was using xanax for a while - 4 (1) mg's a day, and yes, I did feel sleepy. So I asked doc for something different and he gives me ativan.... and that makes me even sleepier!!!  AND it seems like it didn't take the edge off like xanax, just made it fuzzier.

I'm switching back to xanax.