CrazyBoards.org

BPD self help - is it possible?

i have BPD in addition to my bipolar and it's been untreated for years. i have recently been stabilized for the bipolar and since that's kind of sort of taken care of, i've been fighting overwhelmingly BPD symptoms daily, not functioning pretty much at all.

i can't afford a therapist. i can't get one institutionally; my country's mental health system's been taking hits and my psychiatrist will not refer.

is there something i can do. i am in pain daily. is there a book or another self-help resource i can use. i am new to this side of things. thanks.

There's a really great website called dbtselfhelp.com that has a ton of info on dialectical behavioral therapy, one of the therapies that was developed for and has proven effectiveness for treating symptoms of BPD. Sometimes they do "closed" study groups via email.

It's really frustrating that your psychiatrist won't refer you.  I am in Canada also, so I know how hard it can be to get care.  It's unfortunate because there are some programs for BPD in hospitals and such that would be free, but you'd need the referral.

What helped me was doing a lot of reading about BPD, including books that are more intended for providers, like Marsha Linehan's books (both the source textbook and the training manual).  I did a lot of reading about attachment and trauma, as well.  It helped me to understand myself better, which helped me have more compassion for myself and my symptoms, as well as gave me some insight into how I might approach managing them.  I also read some of the recent literature about psychotherapy for BPD, and what helps and what doesn't.

The book Getting Through the Day by Nancy Napier helped me a lot on the trauma side.  I also used The Dialectical Behaviour Therapy Skills Workbook, which is green.

I was part of this Yahoo skills practice group for a while: https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/dbtclass/info