CrazyBoards.org

body memory? how to cope?

I'm pretty new to understanding all this stuff, so I apologize if other threads here already explain this.

I don't know if what I've been feeling is a body memory, and if so, what to do about it.

I've been feeling this pain and pressure, in a private area, inside me. Makes me feel gross. It doesn't correspond to any actual memory I have, like I don't remember anything specific being done to me that would have caused this. I tried to go for a run to distract myself, but it got worse and then I had no good mental distraction available because I was alone in the woods.  I couldn't stand it anymore so I ended up punching my temple repeatedly and biting my hand. I'm ashamed to admit that because I like to think I no longer self-harm. But it worked and I felt better.

So- do you think this is a body memory? What other suggestions do you have to make it go away?

We talk about that here if you want to check it out. Generally speaking I go for alternate sensations. For example last night it felt like I was being burned again so I fell asleep holding a frozen gel pack (which warmed up far more quickly than I'd have anticipated, which I suppose lends some credence to the 'theory' that something was going on). <= And this is entirely my own inability to take my body seriously.

Edited by WinterRosie

Sorry if this is too gross....

Before I had visual memories, would feel disgusting and slimy...this was coupled with an ache that...well, I felt like I had been punched in the cervix, basically.

More recently...when I remembered being a human party favor, I had an involuntary orgasm.  It was pretty revolting to have that happen from the memory.

...they pass in a few hours, for me.

Thanks very much for the replies.