CrazyBoards.org

Longtime lurker, now ready to join your community.

Hello,

Just stopping by to introduce myself. A couple of years ago I ended up seeking mental health services after being informed that my "quirks/tendencies" were not normal as I had believed. I have a long history of sleeping problems, as well as OCD (since ~ 3 years old) and ADHD. I tested well in school so pursuing treatment wasn't as pertinent as it was when I got older, my sleeping problems changed forms throughout the years, and I knew my OCD problems weren't normal but became the norm for me. My treatment goals change every time I "confess" to something else. First the ADHD, then the OCD (at the urging of a professor), and now addressing the insomnia after a bizarre neurological episode that has yet to be investigated. Working on that, but it's a slow process.

I'm majoring in Biology and minoring in Chemistry at a university I love. My ambitions lie in a direction which marries science and psychology/psychiatry. I want to be an advocate for the mentally ill population in a psychiatric care facility as a clinical pharmacist. Unfortunately, my own issues have served as nothing more than disastrous detriments when it comes to fulfilling my dreams. I want to get better through support and supporting others, which is what drew me here.

Hoping to be a positive/constructive contribution!

- Persona Is Life

Hi PiL

You sound like an interesting person and a welcome addition to any group.