CrazyBoards.org

how to fight stupidity

Anyone have any ideas on how to fight the stupid effect my meds have on me? RX is in the sig.

I have trouble remembering what I say/have said.  I have trouble remembering words.  If you ask me what I had for dinner last night I wouldn't be able to tell you.  Though after some thinking now I do remember, but I haven't taken the full dose of my meds today.  Damn my non-compliance.

It's becoming a real problem.  I feel like I am an old lady!

Well, I don't have any scientific studies that I know of to back me up but

-omega 3 fatty acids

-ginko biloba

-ginseng

-caffeine

this has helped me. I am a student and need my brain...

A word of caution. Caffeine needs to be only occassional. And I had to discontinue the ginseng as it made me manic/mixed. But my doctor seemed surprised, so maybe that was just me.

i'm the supplement queen (in that i take a TON)... and i can tell you some of the stuff i take to help with brain function, BUT, i was unable to find anything about interactions between these supplements and geodon.  SO ASK YOUR DOCTOR FIRST BEFORE YOU TAKE THESE!!

Well, as said above, omega 3s are just great for your brain overall.  (and safe.)

For BP it's best to take a dosage with a high ration of EPA:DHA.  And, you want to get as close to 1000mgs of EPA a day as possible.  (this can mean taking 3 or more pills, which gets pricey.)  In my opinion, the best brands are Omega Brite (which you can have automatically delivered every month by mail... order 2 boxes a month so you can take 3 pills a day) and The high EPA formula by Nordic Naturals which you can get at whole foods, etc.

I also take the following:

Vinpocetine which is a "nootropic" (cognition enhancer) that is an rx in europe but a supplement here.  it's available at whole foods, etc... but get a high quality brand.  (I use the Jarrow formulas version... but there are other quality brands out there.)