CrazyBoards.org

Sign in to follow this  
MindAway

I'm 27 and have no dating experience

I have no experience in dating. I have social anxiety, GAD, depression, and very poor social skills. But I have a job and finished with college already. 

Should I start out on dating websites? And my therapist said it is easier to date people from your own race. Is this true? In my region, I am the very few minority here, but I am very open to inter-racial dating.

I would like to point out that I am still living at home with my parents, and probably I wouldn't get a date at all due to this. I cannot afford to live by myself any time soon, due to my student loan bills, and the very expensive rents out here.

I don't think it's easier to date someone of your own race.  Shared values, yes, but that's it.  

I would start out with social interests - I met my husband through a running club.  We were friends first, so by the time we got around to dating, things like MI didn't matter so much.   You already know each other.

And my therapist said it is easier to date people from your own race. Is this true? In my region, I am the very few minority here, but I am very open to inter-racial dating.

I don't think race has anything to do with dating.  If 2 people (and 2 different races) are comfortable with each other and want to date, I don't see the problem.  Did your therapist say why she thought it is easier to date people from your own race?  I really don't think it is her business who you date.

When I was younger, I found it easier to find people to date by doing group activities that I enjoyed.  You don't have the one-on-one pressure that you do with a date. If you don't find anybody that you'd like to get to know better, at least you're getting out and mingling and perhaps you will find your social anxiety getting better since usually there are other people doing a lot of talking and if you don't contribute much people will kind of expect it when you're new.