CrazyBoards.org

No memories up til the age of 8

I have quite detailled memories of school, but none of home life at all, including holidays, Christmasses etc. I have been shown photos and told stories, which sounds reasonable, but I do not have a memory come back as a result. I am 21 now, have just been diagnosed with BPD. I have asked my parents what they think about it, they have both pointed out that the older we get the less of our childhoods we store, and neither see it as a huge problem. I did suffer abuse in my teens, but feel that it is unlikely that it overwrote my childhood. My new therapist noted this memory gap down and mentioned that perhaps something traumatic happened that I have blocked out, but didn't say much more.

What do I do about this? I try to go back and remember but draw a blank. Should I be recovering memories to get better again? If I don't find out if something happened, will I continue to be ill? I am a bit confused.

I'm no expert

but I do share with you the missing memory-thang

I think therapist/pdocs have to priortize our 'issues' and if you don't seem to have an 'issue' with no childhood memories then it prob gets dumped to the end of the list.

karuna I really like reading your posts you have some great outlooks that you've shared.

I'd ask your doc about hypnosis. no time to clean up post right now...so will just blab it out

I was strongly interested in hypnosis, years back. 2nd doc that made it work/click told me after the session

that WHEN i was READY i would remember...years later, after this unusual <i NEVER nap> afternoon sleep

I handled remembering a bad situation

...happened after sleeping alot