CrazyBoards.org

Sign in to follow this  
regis

Is anyone here who writes professionally?

In order to become a good writer do you have to have years of experience and need to have read hundreds of books by other authors to

figure out what sounds good?

I'd like to get into writing but I have no experience and I also havent read many books. I only listen to audio books mostly horror and thriller.

I wish I knew somebody personally who writes professionally cause I have so many questions.

I also dont know how much having OCD would be a problem. Cause when I think for example about how to describe a certain scenario or situation

then I'm unsure and always wonder does this sound good or would something else sound better? My concern is that I'd constantly think about

sentences and then try to rephrase them.

How can you even decide if something is good or not? For example if I tried to describe the same scenario different times on different days then

basically it would always be different. It would never sound the same but then how shall I know which version is best?!

What I also ask myself is how in the world did authors do it in the past without computers? Today you can simply erase a sentence or change

it or you can move whole paragraphs. But in the past with old typewriters they couldnt do this. They couldnt erase sentences all the time or change

them. Does this mean that back then writing was totally different cause basically you had to be absolutely certain that a sentence which you formulate

in your head sounds good because you couldnt rephrase it? I imagine that writing was much harder when you simply had no option to correct yourself.

Answers:

Topic: Yes, but not in english. (Keep in mind that besides here I almost never express myself in english).