CrazyBoards.org
Sign in to follow this  
LindaMarie64

I'm Bi-polar. So how do i determine just what is realistic for me to achieve?

I'm trying to figure out if i should finish school to get a full time job or just accept my limitations and pursue some form of financial disability aid.

Right now I work as a independent commercial/residential cleaner.  I have enough clients to work about 20 or so hours a week.  I'm in the Allied Health Program at my local community college to earn my phlebotomy/clinical lab assistant certificate taking 16 credits. (I know, 16 credits is insane.)  I had to drop the phlebotomy tech class because i was drowning under the massive amount of schoolwork.  I passed Clinical Lab 1 and now i'm trying to pass Clinical Lab 2. 

My alcoholic husband left me and my 2 kids (ages 18/20) last September to work in CA with a woman with whom he had an affair in 2007. So i am basically functioning as a single mom trying to stay positive and well to provide them with stability that they deserve.

So far, i haven't missed a mortgage payment; my husband is still helping out financially.   But the house is a huge responsibility to maintain.  It's large, it's old and the backyard is a jungle.  It's in need of so much work, i don't even know where to begin.  

The one plus side to my husband moving out is that i now rent out his office to a local student.  Her rent pays for half my mortgage.

I need to work full time at some point so that i can get insurance to cover meds, dr visits, etc.  But i am still struggling with basic life skills at this point.  How in the world am I going to get myself to a job 5 days a week, when i can barely pull myself out of bed because i'm so drugged out most mornings from my medications?  Some days just taking a shower is beyond my capability.  I don't eat healthy and getting regular exercise is a complete joke.