CrazyBoards.org

I'm scared. I've been taking lamictal and mirapex for about three weeks now. I've been increasing my dose of lamictal each week. I started at .25 mg 2x/day and now I am taking .25mg 3x/day. I started crying in the last 2 days. Once at work and once at a party. Will this get better as my dosage increases? My psychiatrist hasn't gotten back to me and I can't have this happen at work. I have read some posts and noticed others have had similar crying episodes. Why might this be? I also don't feel like going anywhere. I prefer to stay at home. And mirapex...is it doing anything to help with bipolar? I would like to know if there is somebody out there who take both of these medications and if it has helped with bipolar 2. Thank you.

Edited by Steffie1313
Added another tag

Hi Steffie1313! Welcom to CB! I'm glad you joined us.

I can't comment on Mirapex as I've never taken that med. But I have plenty of experience with Lamictal and  have observed others as well, and all I can say is that the Lamictal titration is a rocky road fraught with anxiety and mood swings. I think what you are experiencing is normal for the Lamictal titration, especially since you haven't reached 100 mg yet.

The good news is that it does get better once you reach your target dose and stop the titration. In fact, it gets much, much better. Many people love Lamictal so I recommend that you continue on with the knowledge that the crying spells and mood swings will end when you reach your target dose.

Again, welcome aboard our little crazy ship!

• Like 2

Thank you for welcoming me. 

Next week I start 100 mg of Lamictal, twice a day. I have hope that it will make me feel better. I have been all over the place with my moods. Like mother, like daughter--I guess. She is bipolar and now, finally at 35, I am getting help. 

I am curious about the addition of Mirapex...hmmmmm.

21 minutes ago, Steffie1313 said:

Thank you for welcoming me.