CrazyBoards.org

I was first treated for generalized anxiety disorder in 1991 with Benzos and an SSRI. Basically survived adequately until 2010 when I developed major depression disorder. Numerous cocktails of SSRI's, SSNI's, atypical antipsychotics, etc. were tried; none with success. Had extreme suicide ideation and overwhelming depression. I would sleep 10-12 hours a day, cry a lot, but still managed to work. There was no reason for this sudden development of MDD, just shit luck I guess. Four T-Docs later I was labeled "treatment resistant" and told the next step was an MAO inhibitor, specifically Nardil. I studied up on this drug and hated the restrictive diet but more so the limitations on medications I could take. None the less, the depression peaked to the point of having a suicide plan, and I decided to go to the Nardil. I first had to be two weeks off of the 20mg of Lexapro and 200mg of Wellbutrin I was taking. I stopped both these drugs way to soon (over four days) and suffered miserably with headaches, insomnia, dizziness, etc. However, the depression disappeared! Initially I thought that the withdrawal symptoms were so severe that the depression just took a back seat. Kind of like if you have a bad headache then smash your thumb with a hammer, you forget the headache. But now two weeks post these SSRI's, I still have no depression. I would not say I am happy, just not depressed, which is still miraculous. I continue to have some dizziness, and my sleep sucks; I barely get 6 hours a night and during that time wake up every hour (even after trying Ambien, Benadryl, and weed). I also maintain my anxiety and am more irritable off SSRI's.  I am wondering if anyone else has simply gotten better from depression after stopping meds for it, and if so for how long. I AM NOT ADVOCATING ANYONE TRY THIS AS THIS COULD BE VERY DANGEROUS. Jt07, I have read some of your posts as to how you went depression free for 3 years; I would love to here how you got better, then wh