CrazyBoards.org

To those on disability...

...how have you adjusted to life on disability?

I've been on disability for over a year now and I still haven't adjusted. I want to work again but I don't feel like I can right now. I miss the routine, the responsibility, the people... but I haven't worked in 2 years.

I feel totally inhuman now. Like, just really worthless and pointless and it makes my Derealization even worse.

I've been in and out of the hospital lately for my mental illnesses and am now in IOP but it's not helping much.

Yeah, it's not something I've been able to accept either, I've been out of work now for about four years. The worst thing is those it feels like only yesterday that it was four years ago; time ends up being meaningless. I want to work now, I want to get onto the career ladder already but I'm not ready for it.

I posted something somewhat similarly recently because i'm just getting started down this path--which I realize isn't exactly the same, but might be helpful.  The info is here:

http://www.crazyboards.org/forums/index.php?/topic/81351-what-to-do-when-not-working/

People had some great ideas about spending time, but what I'm thinking about in particular is that Hester had an article in there about essentially how your worth doesn't decrease because of not working and there are still things about you that matter and things you can do that have value.  That's a slightly rosy-eyed view of it, but such is the land of hypomania. 

4 hours ago, surreal said:

...how have you adjusted to life on disability?