CrazyBoards.org

I'm new to Seroquel (at 225 mg).  I hate it with a passion!

I feel more sluggish, dissociated, and confused than I have on any previous meds.  I feel extreme derealization and sedation.  It's like my body is not my own and my mind is in another dimension.

I'm trying to roll with this, but it is terrifying.

Did the brain fog, spaciness, etc. get better for you?  How long did it take you to adjust to Seroquel?  Will I feel like this forever?

My only side effect right now at 600mg is weight/metabolism stuff. I can't remember exactly how the initial taper went... I think I had it easier than you, but I definitely experienced some drowsiness and fogginess. Now that's totally gone and I've been on it for 8-9 months. So yes, it can get better. It's a really effective drug for mania too. It's capped my highs significantly.

I'm not sure.. about dosage on regular Seroquel.. I am on XR and started on 50mg now I am on 100mg... at first, i was exactly how you described.. I was dissociated and foggy, confused, and it's like i had to think for everything, it faded away, but not sure if that's a high dose to start off at? i'm guessing it will go away with time.. but ask your pdoc if you're concerned... I always call my pdoc about everything.. but then again I am paranoid about every little side effect haha.. Good luck!

I'm another one who only during the day got the weight/appetite/metabolism piece.  At evening, it helps with sleep.  I do have fatigue/exhaustion during the day, but I don't know if it's a side effect of Seroquel or not...I lean toward it just being me because I had it as an issue pre-episode.  I didn't notice any difference going up from 200mg to 300mg to 400mg though, so I don't know what smaller increments would have been like.  I feel like I'd be concerned if I were really symptomatic and just went up a tiny bit--but I also understand that the side effects are really rough right now.