CrazyBoards.org

I know the website says it's for treating bipolar depression but what about mania? Ever since I started latuda I haven't had a manic episode which is good because I was having one every two months or so, but latuda isn't supposed to do anything for mania is it? 

It does a lot to stop my depression and schizophrenia symptoms so I was wondering if I should talk to my pdoc about adding more drugs to my cocktail to avoid another manic episode just incase I've just been lucky since starting latuda and have a manic episode lurking around the corner..... 

I'll obviously listen to what my pdoc says but what would you recommend to stop manic episodes if you were to recommend something? 

I wish I knew.  I'm just getting started on it also and going to go down on the seroquel--the latuda going up because of the emphasis of it working on bipolar depression (which is where I seemingly have landed) and seroquel going down because of massive weight gain issues.  However, I bounced here out of a dysphoric manic/mixed/who knows WTF episode, so I'm concerned that solely treating the bipolar depression will land me back in manic territory (or any flavor of manic).  I asked and was told that the lithium/lamictal combo should keep me from going manic and that they'd go slowly to be sure. 

I'll be interested to hear how your discussion goes--my short answer is that I don't know how it handles mania and am a bit scared of that myself, but do have other drugs on board. 

I'm sorry to report my experience of latuda not controlling mania at all for me. Ymmv of course. And I was on lamictal and abilify too at this time plus latuda 140 mg. Maybe it was the combo, I don't know.

But not terribly long after switching from seroquel to latuda I became full blown manic and was forced IP. This was last year. I was taking 140 mg of latuda too. It just wasn't cutting it for psychosis or mania. (I have SZA if that makes any difference).