CrazyBoards.org

For those who remember me, you know how severe my depression was. For those who DON'T remember me, I'll fill you in. Depression is genetic for me. I started showing depressive signs when I was five after the second death of a sister. I don't remember any of that time period, so the first time I remember being depressed I was eight. I even wrote journal entries like, "If I had one wish in the entire world, I would be happy for just one day. Because I've never been happy before and I want to know what it's like." (That bitch teacher gave me a check plus and didn't tell my parents!) I was finally medicated when I was 10. I continued on meds through high school and college, and though I was still depressed, I was able to function. This particular MAJOR depressive episode started in February 2009, my last semester of college. After I graduated from college, I worked in an office. One day, everything stopped. I broke down. I honestly don't remember what happened that day. The only thing I remember is my Mom picking me up because I was unable to drive. I really haven't been able to function since then. I went on disability for severe depression and anxiety not long after that.

But it's gone. My depression is gone.

After adding Effexor ER, I started doing well. I did even better at 225 mg. (I went up to 300 mg, but had a hypomanic episode, so I have to go back down to 225 mg and we added Topamax. I hope going down on dosage of Effexor ER won't hurt me.) And now I'm doing amazing! I still have some bad days and some depressed habits, but for the first time in my life, I am actually... normal. I was a happy depressed person, so you can imagine how happy I am as a normal person! It's like I see things for the first time. It feels like I've been holding my breath my entire life and now I'm able to let it out and breathe. I do still have severe anxiety that I need to work on... but I'll get there with my anxiety as well.