CrazyBoards.org

If things don't improve, my pdoc wants to put me on Tegretol. I've always thought that this wasn't a first-line med for bipolar. But I might be wrong? I haven't been on that many mood stabilizers (Lithium and Lamictal), so isn't there other options to explore first?

What are people's experiences with Tegretol for bipolar?

Tegretol is an older drug usually perscribed for mixed siezures..The FDA did approve it for BiPolar disorder and usually it is dosaged along with other meds.. I dont know of any one who uses it alone but from what I read it can be given as a start...

I do know that the first few weeks it makes you feel a little strange and some short term memory problems. These usually go away within a few weeks to a month..this all depends on the dosage. Titrating is usually the best way to go.. Start slow and easy. 

I work in the Pharma R&D field,,,,I am no doctor but have access to a lot of drug information.. Ask your Pdoc about the drug and what to expect. Ask the same questions you would ask here...

Hope that helps a bit and thank you for your help on my postings..

Peace!! ;)

Hi Helena:

Typically, Tegretol is not considered a first-line mood stabilizer, as Lithium and Depakote mostly share that wee fiefdom. Tegretol would thus likely be relegated to a second-line mood stabilizer status. There is a nice chart of options at:

http://www.psycheducation.org/depression/m...stabilizers.htm

I am doing great with my current cocktail of, in alphabetical order, Keppra, Klonopin, Lamictal, and Topomax, but our symptoms are very different.

Best of luck.

Todd.

If things don't improve, my pdoc wants to put me on Tegretol. I've always thought that this wasn't a first-line med for bipolar. But I might be wrong? I haven't been on that many mood stabilizers (Lithium and Lamictal), so isn't there other options to explore first?

What are people's experiences with Tegretol for bipolar?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>