CrazyBoards.org
Sign in to follow this  
rish

Does paranoia manifest in bipolar?

I have read that paranoia can manifest in psychosis when the mania or depression is extreme? What if its not extreme?

I know I had persecutory delusions along side grandiose ones when I had a mixed episode before I got diagnosed at 15. I'm not exactly sure but I know that some depressed people sometimes think they are are physically sick, think they're dying and/or are in physical pain when sometimes they are not. Would that be classed as paranoia, I don't know. 

It could be anxiety on the side you know. I'm not a doctor though

Also not a doctor, but I've read the same thing. My paranoia came out when I was fairly manic, although not the most euphoric I've ever been, but it was the paranoia/psychosis that made the episode classify as severe. To me I'm not sure whether one causes the other (like paranoia/psychosis follows extreme mood) or whether they kinda coexist (like they come on together with an episode)... my experience seems more like it coexists for me at least, but again, not an expert. 

I experience paranoia only in extremes of mania or depression, but I do experience psychosis when only mildly depressed. So it's possible to have psychosis without an extreme mood episode.

The way I usually experience paranoia when either manic or depressed is like a form of extreme anxiety. I feel afraid of things that usually are more of a low-grade irritation or concern to me, such as the permanent sense that I don't fit in (thank you, Autism); when I have an episode, it escalates to a fear that people will hurt me for being obviously a freak of nature. I also feel really conspicuous when I'm in an episode and like I can't "pass" as well for normal (nothing to see here, folks!) and I think that that might be putting me in danger too.

On 9/17/2016 at 6:29 PM, Gearhead said: