CrazyBoards.org

I haven't been feeling good about myself at all.  I went to a party last night and got pretty drunk.  Well, I didn't think I drank that much (I thought I had 3-4 drinks) but still I blacked out a bit.  I remember most of the night but there are a few things I don't remember saying that my friend recounted to me.  (nothing rude or bad, but it is scary to forget what you have said!)

Anyway, there was a guy at the party who I knew had a crush on me and I had one on him.  I slept with him that night...the first night I had ever hung out with him.  I've never done this before!!  I feel really guilty and cheap.  I'm glad that at least we were "safe" about it.

I'm just very mad at myself for doing self destructive things like drinking and having sex with someone I barely know.  I think I did it because I'm depressed and insecure and starved for "love," but obviously acting this way isn't going to get me the love or relationship I desire.  I feel so ashamed.  When I was younger I would never have done something like this, but the older I get the less I seem to care about myself and the more poor decisions I make. 

I want to stop drinking, but it's the only thing that helps me be confident and friendly when I go out.  I wish I could just set my limits better.  But I seem to black out really easily, even when I don't drink all that much.  I wonder if my antidepressant (celexa) makes me more sensitive to alcohol? 

Anyway, I'm just feeling scared and embarassed about the decisions I'm making and I could use some support.  I know everyone makes mistakes, but I'm really beating myself up about this because it just doesn't fit my image of myself to do such things.

you know, it strikes me that the self destructive part is the beating yourself up over it.  i mean, you were drunk and made a stupid mistake.  most people do stupid things when they get drunk, or things that aren't their normal sober selves.