CrazyBoards.org

Hello board. I am new to therapy and it is believed that I have MDD and bipolar II.  I have a simple question that steams from my first appointment.   Do you ever feel happy or excited about life?  Think of it as a wave that dips below a line in depression but goes back up to a "normal".  Does this describe you at all?

1 minute ago, BatsBelfry said:

Hello board. I am new to therapy and it is believed that I have MDD and bipolar II.  I have a simple question that steams from my first appointment.   Do you ever feel happy or excited about life?  Think of it as a wave that dips below a line in depression but goes back up to a "normal".  Does this describe you at all?

Sometimes.  I used to feel happy and excited about life more than I do now.  I mean I am "happy" ... but not true happiness.  That is rare though, and only usually lasts a short amount of time when it does happen.  I have an underlying depression that is constant, with SZA over that, which I'm pretty sure contributes to all of this.

My so-called "normal" seems to be a consistent, chronic low-level Depression. The depression varies in severity (sometimes it's major depression with more anxiety, then it returns to more of a manageable (but still tortuous) dysthymia/boredom/apathy/loss of interest) however, I don't think I've been "happy" in many years. I do recall being happier when I was young & up until my 20's/early 30's maybe..after that, the depression has never really gone into full remission.

Interesting.  So I guess that when I get excited and energetic that is the bipolar talking.   I'm new at this and since bipolar is hard to pin down I wanted to see if what I have as symptoms is really just depression that is currently turned off.  Hope that makes sense.  

1 hour ago, BatsBelfry said: