CrazyBoards.org

So, I am 20 years old and live in philly. I just found out that my insurance is now cut off and out of pocket my medications are too expensive. I'm really worried because I was diagnosed with bipolar and borderline personality disorder and I don't want to fall into another manic episode or ruin relationships again. 

This is so stressful if any of you guys know anything about resources please let me know. 

I am no expert, but have a few questions. Why was it cut off?  Is it appealable?  At 20, could/would your parents pay for insurance for you?  Could you qualify for disability?  For some meds, the drug companies offer assistance. Also, your pdoc may get samples that could tide you over. Depending on what you take, there might be options for generics or just a cheaper med.  And shop around--some places charge way more. One med was $129 at a local place, $35 at Costco (don't need to join to use their pharmacy). I'm sure others have way more ideas but those are a quick start. 

Check out goodrx.com and needymeds.org to find the cheapest places to get your meds, any available coupons and if there are patient assistance programs available. By in large when I was uninsured the best deals for meds were from Costco and Sam's Club. Walgreens was often the most expensive option. 

Some of the older meds are a lot cheaper due to having generics. Lithium is cheap and a first line treatment. Have you tried it? The generic SSRIs are cheap, such as Prozac and Zoloft. AAPs are all quite costly AFAIK so maybe typicals would be a more economical if you need an AP.

Here's a list of community health centers in Philly. They will see you for free or cheap if you have no insurance, and can help you connect to cheap generic drug providers. Seroquel (qutieapine) and Lamictal (lamotrigine) should NEVER cost $300 at this point because they are both widely available as generics.

Walmart has $4 generics. Target has $4 and $10 generics. Check out needy meds for sure.