CrazyBoards.org

I'm histrionic...and in love.

So I have a bad habit of falling in love with everyone who crosses my path.  Unfortunately, due to the fact that I'm also severely avoidant (and you know that the combination of these 2 personality disorders--plus 4 others!--spells c-r-e-e-p-y), this "love" is never returned.

I'm a college student and I tend to pick one or two guys per semester to be violently in love with and completely obsess over until it fades a little and the next one comes along.  I never do anything about these--I don't follow them home, I don't call them and hang up, I don't send them weird notes, I don't even talk to them.  I just kind of sit there and pine for them and get really depressed because I know nothing is ever going to happen.  It's really not a fun cycle, and I don't know if it's ever going to stop.

Anyway, to my point: This semester's Guy I Love is...my math teacher.  I know, awful awful awful.  He's a grad student so there's not a significant age difference and it's not like he's married or anything (yeah, I actually look at people's hands).  And I feel kind of gross about it, but at the same time I can't help it.  But this time, unlike with the others, contact is unavoidable and I feel really creepy sitting in the class and staring at him (but that's the good thing about him being the teacher--people can catch me staring at him and it's not weird).  So now I'm headed for that weird depression again, not only because nothing will ever happen (because this time it REALLY won't), but because I also feel creepier about this one.

Okay, really to my point: I was just wondering, does anyone else here have the same problem (either falling in weird, obsessive, unrequited love all the time, or being in love with a teacher)?  And does anyone have any good advice on how to make this stop?  Because I really, really want it to stop.

Honestly, my suggestion would be to drop the class and take it another semester with another teacher.