CrazyBoards.org

hello everyone.  thank you for having me.  i read A LOT of the pinned / sticky info and i appreciate everything that that's there.  i guess i'm posting because i am scared and confused and would like support.  i was just diagnosed today.  it all makes sense, but i'm so frustrated because i'm actually a therapist and i can't believe i didn't see it.  my PDOC says it's because i'm too close to it, and also because my hypomania isn't exactly "bright."  my hypomania manifests as quite dark: very risky behaviors, mild paranoia, inability to focus or trust anything, etc.  i am hoping some of you can relate and help me make sense of all of this.  we are experimenting with adding some Remeron to my ever increasing list of meds (i have PTSD, GAD, and Panic Disorder as well) because my reactions to SSRIs and SNRIs have been extreme mania, most times.  he (my PDOC) says that he believes i have Bipolar II, but also that it's sort of like "low key", if that makes sense (he's a sweet, grandfatherly man in his 60s who was nearly in tears during our session when i finally came clean about how dark i was feeling, regardless of this so-labelled hypomanic episodes or depressive episodes.  please let me know if it's helpful when giving advice if i provide you with any other meds / supplements i'm taking (it's quite a lot at this point, in my opinion).  anyway, i'm just frustrated, upset, not sleeping (ha), and just kicking myself for not thinking of it first.  i'm also frustrated with previous PDOCs who have seen me react so poorly to SSRIs and SNRIs and not considered this in the past, as my current PDOC says this is kind of a hallmark for the diagnosis, from a medical perspective (as i say, i'm just a therapist, a doctor of psychology...so not THAT kind of doctor).  anyway, any support, words of wisdom, etc., you could offer would help.  i'm presently in a hypomanic period, so i may not sleep for a bit (unless this Remeron does the trick). at the very least, thank yo