CrazyBoards.org

new to Lexapro, alcohol, sick as a dog

Hey boys + grrls,

I'm new to Lexapro and medication all together. I've been on it for about a week (10mg/day) and last night i had some wine with dinner. Today i woke up sick as a dog, nauseaus, sore throat and really lethargic. I've been sleeping most of the day and honestly right now i feel like going back to bed. Is this a common reaction ?

Also i haven't noticed too much difference from the pills yet, i'm taking them for anxiety problems as well as depression. They kinda weird me out for a little bit after i take them in the morning. How long does it take to notice a change? My doc has given me two starter packs which is about two weeks worth of pills then i have to see him again. Should i expect a change within these first two weeks?

I'm not quite sure if they're the right pills to be on but my life is a mess at the moment, i've been unable to get motivated to do anything for a long time now. Work stopped contracting work out to me in October because i was unable to focus and i can't even manage to motivate myself to apply for a job.

Thanx for everyone that has already posted stuff on here about Lexapro - these forums rock!

Justin

Hi Justin,

I'm on Lexapro now, but I can't share any experience with alcohol since I haven't had a drop since I am on Topamax and I load of other meds as well that don't mix well with alcohol. 

I was on Wellbutrin a couple of years ago before my epilepsy dx and drank on it.  I was a cheap date to say the least and woke up the next day feeling much like you described.