Anyone else with extreme fear of being abandoned?

Hi.  I am dealing with this incredible fear of abandonment das well as life-long depression) .  I feel pretty clear on what it stems from. I am working with a therapist.  I just want to know what kind of (healthy) coping techniques others may use to deal with this kind of anxiety.  It really leaves me feeling so alone sometimes! 

I've always had an extreme fear of being abandoned by people close to me. Even just people disapproving or not connecting with me over things. That fear has shaped so much of my adult life it's embarrassing. It's what made me vulnerable to domestic abuse.

The only thing that has made any difference is spending time alone, and realising that the world doesn't end. I've lost some poeple along the way though.

Oh,  it has definitely shaped my life, too!  And I find it embarrassing, too,  because I am a grown woman and very often react (and/or feel)  like a really small child. I am still learning how to help myself get centered and how to get my adult self to kick in and take over when I start regressing. It's really hard to do bc then I am in a state of high anxiety and can't think straight! 

And recently I had a friend (who I thought of as being supportive and understanding) tell me in a really pretty stupid and mean way that I am not working hard enough. (While I was in the middle of a horrendous med change and just needed reassurance that things could get better). That kind of experience really hits me hard!  I think: why can't I just act like an adult? 

• Like 1