Psychiatrist told me to think about ECT

Hermione

So my last session my psychiatrist mentioned ECT but the side effects scare me and it seems extreme. I am depressed and suicidal a lot but it just terrifies me. I have an eating disorder and depression and anxiety and PTSD my PTSD has been bad and I went back into a spiral of my eating disorder. I don't think I could work with doing ECT and my other option is also treatment which would also keep me out of work. I am a daycare teacher I think that is why things like memory loss sound so horrifying to me and knowing I doubt I could work at the same time. Besides my job I have no motivation to do anything I am too low. My psychiatrist is working on meds but I have tried so many ....I am to think about it no decision has been made but looking for thoughts...

First I disclose. I am a huge ECT supporter. It seems scary but really the side effects to me were less invasive than the 8 meds I was on trying to keep me away from the hospital. It's really not that dangerous, I've had 15 treatments and all the side effects, including memory loss, were pretty minor. You get a muscle relaxer so you don't actually seize, and all that happened was a headache and some jaw soreness...but they gave me stuff for the headache and to prevent nausea. Your out for not even ten minutes so it's not like you get the hangover from prolonged anesthesia, although your pretty wiped for that day. It works faster than meds and it got rid of my SI. there is a unilateral form that is milder and caused me almost no side effects. All in all, it gets an unfair reputation and I would go in with and open mind. I'm sure that someone will post with all the negatives because it is a controversial topic, and I'm not saying there aren't some potential problems, just to try and see past the stigma when you make a decision 

Edited by Iceberg

Hi Hermione, welcome to CB.