CrazyBoards.org

Anyone here have OSFED or EDNOS as a dx? 

I recently had a brief physical for a depression/ketamine trial I'm participating in. The doctor recommended I consider treatment at the local eating disorders treatment center. She seemed concerned about my eating habits. I suppose it makes sense. I just don't see how I meet criteria even for something as broad as OSFED.

I am morbidly obese. I eat a very restricted number of calories a day. I have for years and I only gain weight. In order to lose weight I, deceptively, need to eat more like double the number of calories that feels "right". I don't obsess about my weight or counting calories/tracking intake. I simply don't eat. I am not very good at "listening" to my body so I don't usually know when I'm hungry. If I only eat when I notice that I'm hungry, I end up with far too few calories a day. I don't binge or purge, just restrict.

The doctor with the trial suggested that perhaps food doesn't taste good. It's true, most food tastes pretty bland. I end up preferring sweet or salty foods and even then eating is not something that typically brings me joy. I struggle to care enough about food to want to spend time preparing it because even home-cooked food does not feel appealing enough to be worth the effort and expense of cooking for one. As a result, these days in my half-hearted attempts to eat something close to "enough" I eat a lot of prepared/frozen meals.

In my saner moments, I realise that I am probably not eating the most healthy diet, though it is not pure sugar/junk either. I certainly know lots of people who eat as badly or worse but are much thinner. The doctor at the trial suggested I might be nutritionally deficient which would contribute to the lethargy that I have always identified as a depression symptom.