How long do delusions need to last?

Content Warning: Paranoia, mentions of rape and sexual assault

Is there a minimum length for a delusion? I'm bipolar and in something I think is a mixed state right now, if that affects things. But this morning I was arriving on campus at my school (I'm a commuter student to a state college) and there are these big bushes between the sidewalk and the library entrance. So I went to go up to the library to work on my homework, and I had to walk behind the bushes. And the campus is empty because classes are currently going on and the 9:30 classes weren't due to end for another 45 minutes, and I swear I hear someone walking up behind me. Footsteps clear as day, like someone is trying to tiptoe and be quiet. I look behind me and nothing was there, but if someone was there they could have hopped to the other side of the bush. So I start panicking and becoming paranoid that someone is going to jump me and rape me in these bushes right in front of the library so I start running to the library doors, rush for the elevator, and go up to the third floor where I can plug my laptop in to work. I'm panting and spend about an hour once I sit down paranoid that someone is gonna tap me on the shoulder and drag me to the janitor's closet but I'm starting to come down from it and think that I was being ridiculous now.

Is it normal or possible for delusions to end that quickly? Any thoughts? I have a very limited experience with psychosis, so I'm not sure what's common or possible. And any thoughts are appreciated. Thank you.

the thoughts/frameworks i have that are considered delusional are not short-lived and have lasted several years. but sometimes bits of them are.