Chronic fatigue

Hey, everyone. This is my first time posting on here so I’ll give all the details:

In April, I had a scary psychotic break and my mania took over my body, making me delusional and paranoid for weeks in the hospital. I was put on Lithium and Geodon (Ziprasidone) and I got discharged after a month. Mid-May, my appetite started to decrease until fully disappearing. I was slammed with crippling fatigue, lack of focus, and my libido plummeted. My emotions felt flat; I had no ups and downs. It took me months but I switched to Lamictal and Latuda and I felt pretty much the same. My psychiatrist even prescribed me Nuvigil (a medication for people with sleeping disorders) to help my fatigue but it just made me restless and overly anxious with no change in mood or interest levels. I did a sleep study and no sleep apnea was found.

It’s been over three months and I still have no appetite, flat moods, low libido, fatigue, inability to concentrate (I’ve been out of work for months because of the fatigue) and little motivation to do anything. My physician ran bloodwork and only found low testosterone. I’m losing hope here and I’m scared that switching meds won’t help. I was off of meds for nine days as a mini experiment with my psychiatrist and nothing changed. I have been on Abilify for over four weeks with no change.

Has anyone else experienced bipolar related chronic fatigue? Did it fade with time? Did medications help? I am contemplating applying for disability because of it.

hi @alen welcome to CB! I am curious to know if you have any kind of history/previous diagnosis of mental health issues? Was there a particular stress or event that precipitated this manic/delusional episode and were you diagnosed with Bipolar? What you are experiencing could be the "crash" in Bipolar disorder..the depressive phase that hits after the mania subsides.