CrazyBoards.org

I've had so many problems with them in the past, so I'm reluctant to try, try again.  However, I'm wondering if my brain is pleading for a serotonin boost because the worse my depression, the more I crave starchy carbohydrate-loaded foods. 

Is there a connection between carb cravings and low serotonin levels, or am I overreaching on this?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Neurotica, I'm not a doctor (I only play one with my tdoc), so I don't know if you need an SSRI. For me, it depends on side effects versus how bad the depression is. Me, I'll take the side effects over the effects of depression. Various SSRIs work differently for different people, and SSRIs aren't the only antidepressants. If you've had problems with one, you can try another. If it doesn't work out, you can always stop or go in a different direction.

Do you have a pdoc and have you spoken with her/him about this?

On food, I've noticed that going on, or raising the dosage of, SSRIs gives me a tremendous appetite for the first 24 hours or so. Also, when I'm not feeling well, I crave comfort food, which carbs can be.

f1

Neurotica,

carb cravings and depression can be linked.  (or you could be craving carbs because your blood sugar is low, and when blood sugar is low some people get moody.)

According to Kathleen DesMaisons, author ofPotatoes Not Prozac there is a BIG link between carbs, food and depression. 

I've read two of her books (and a more technical book by her mentor, which i can't remember the name of, but let me know if you want to know it) and what she says makes sense.... to a point. to the "not prozac" point.  that is, i think eating right can help A LOT, but if you have clinical depression, get the to an MD!

which SSRIs have you tried?  they really aren't all the same.  then there are the SNRIs and Wellbutrin, and tricyclics.... there are a ton of meds out there to try.  if you are depressed, please, don't let a few bad med experiences stop you from feeling better.

penny