CrazyBoards.org

What a horribly manic day alone (long)

Hi--I was diagnosed with MD about a year ago but haven't found a really great p-doc, although the latest did uncover ADD, which makes a lot of sense.  So I've been on Adderall (20 XR and 10 immediate later in the day) and titrating very slowly on Lamictal since October of last year.  The past 2-3 weeks on 155 and 170 have been a bit difficult.  I'm not sure what's happening, but thought I'd share because this board has been so helpful in the past.  I feel lost--I'm not sure how I define 'mania' for myself, but I guess I'm learning....I wrote this a couple hours ago while in an uncontrollable state--one of my first & very scary.  Depression over the past 10 years has been horrible at times but nothing like this. It's really long-winded--sorry, but I'm new to this & feel overwhelmed.

I couldn

Hey Sita.

I'm really sorry, but I just got back to uni (from the class Brain Structure and Function) and I feel like this is a case study or something. I'm real sorry if my post makes that obvious.

That, to me could be anything. Just a normal "omg I feel like doing stuff" day, could be hyper activity from ADHD, OCD, Mania, etc. Depends on the context I think. I'm amazed you remembered all that stuff, and the order you did them in. People remember things better if there is emotion attached to them (thanks to the amygdala). And, you were paying attention to what you were doing too, even though you were easily distracted, which makes me think it's mania, rather than add. I don't know, just guessing, I don't have add, so I can't really know what it's like. A text book only says so much. I'm probably so wrong, just trying to be smart, that's all.