CrazyBoards.org

;) the paranoia has returned. I went through a year long psychosis where I lost touch with reality had major delusions, paranoia, heard voices. I have been well for about a year now with the help of Risperdal and Zoloft. For the last couple of months I have been having some "bad" days. I have felt the paranoia nipping at the edges wondering if people are watching me, coming close to hearing voices again. Last night I got real freaked out when I thought of having to deal with voices and possibly going to the emergency room again. I have some bad experiences with ER's when I was under my psychosis having been put in 4 point restraints. Nothing scarier when you are paranoid. I want to know if there are folks out there living with Pyschotic Disorder or Schizophrenia and how you deal with "bad days". I am concerned that my meds might not be working or I have developed a resistance to them and I don't want to live with delusions and hearing voices. Any advice will help. I am scheduled to talk about it with my pdoc but I want other input as well. My diagnosis is Psychotic Disorder NOS. Thanks.

Well, the best thing I do is try and socialize and go out and do something.  If I don't have a reality to compare the thoughts in my mind to I'd go crazy.  If I start coming up with some idea about how someone is out to get me, then I go and see that they really could care less about me.

My first doctor said I have to take it slow when I recovered from my episode, but that is not the truth, the more I am involved in reality the more I have a handle on it.  That is how I look at it at least, the idle mind is the devils playground.

I don't have psychosis as such, but I do get very paranoid now and again. What often helps me, is like how Kevin says, I try and 'reality check' before it gets too bad.

Also, exploring the roots of the issues in therapy helps me lots....it helps with awareness and understanding and compassion towards myself.

Guest Guestxyz