CrazyBoards.org

my shrink is sick of me

;)

I've been working with my tdoc every week for about 5 months now. It started out really nicely- much better than the old tdoc I had before. I really felt that he understood me and he was honestly trying to help me get better. Problem is- things aren't changing that much- it feels like we talk about the same thing every single week and I know he's getting frustrated.

I know therapy is about change- but it's so hard for me. I've been stuck in my crappy ways since I was 8 years old and it's all I know. Tdoc tries to get me to go out, talk with people, try to feel better about myself- but it's not happening. I can't go from completely hating myself, to thinking I'm great overnight.

Now I can tell that he's getting pissed off. He watches the clock, there are a lot of pauses and silent moments. He looks at me differently and I can just tell he is sick of working with me. He just cannot wait for the school year to be over so he never has to see me again.

so what do i do? I really enjoy seeing him because I don't have anyone else to talk to.. so it's kind of the highlight of my week. But then after our session I feel like crap, like I didnt live up to his expectations- then I go home and cry my eyes out.

It's too late in the semester to get a new tdoc and I don't think I can handle the rest of the year without one. I don't have the money to go off campus and find a tdoc in the community.

Should I just try to fake my way through these next two months? Just pretend to be happy and pretend to like myself so he's not so aggravated with me?

I just feel like crap!

Therapists are people too, maybe there have been things on his mind (or worse he been obligated to do

like RIGHT after your normal appointment time)  that he has trouble using his professional skills to

cover up.

The way you've presented your side of it makes me think that you think he's not seeing the progress