CrazyBoards.org

hi CB,

So how much similarity is there expected to be within the -done class and the -pine class?  I'm assuming that there has to be some level of chemical similarity for the generics to sound so similar.  But I hadn't really heard it mentioned before.  I'm just curious because my new one is a -done (iloperidone - fanapt), and I had good results with risperdal (risperidone) before I got EPS but an absolutely god awful time with latuda (lurasidone).  So I'm not sure if it's hit or miss or what exactly.

my prior pdoc also wanted to try me on fanapt (we didn't at the time because I landed in the hospital first and then he wanted to stick with what they'd tried).

I think the new one might be beneficial if some sleep-related issues get sorted out.  But I was just curious about things like side effect profile/how they work etc.  I'm not good at understanding receptors and such things.

I have done well on all the "pine" AP's I've tried (Seroquel, clozaril, Zyprexa) unfortunately I gain too much weight on them. 

The "done" class have all given me EPS or Akathisia but little weight gain if any. 

I really like vraylar so far, I don't know if it is in the same class as the other ones.  I am hoping I can stay on it for the long term.  It's both energizing and calming at the same time.  I've  never experienced that before with an AP. 

@browri will likely be able to explain this better than I will.