CrazyBoards.org

New Adderall Rx

My PCP just prescribed me Adderall.  I've had a lot of pdocs/tdocs over the years suggest an ADD-inattentive dx, but i was never prescribed anything for it before so I have zero experience with this type of med.

I haven't started it yet. I'm a little nervous because I have had some crappy experiences with negative side effects and withdrawal symptoms with other meds.

I know you can't offer medical advice, but any anecdotal experiences / advice for a newbie would be really awesome. I know even the best of doctors cannot paint the full picture of a med, only you, the actual users of the medication know what the experience is really like. Appreciate whatever anyone would care to share.

Adderall is a good med.  Just take it slow.  Either you like it or you don't.

Stimulants are the lifeblood for treating my depression.  They also allow me to focus and get things done.  So for me it treats two things at once.   

I haven't experienced any negative side effects at all.  

Is your Adderall IR or ER?  You may want to test both out before you decide which one is best suited for you.

25 minutes ago, gb84 said:

Is your Adderall IR or ER?  

10 mg XR

i didn't realize it could help depression too. that actually makes good sense, but i hadn't thought of it. that could be a really good thing for me, especially at this time of the year in new england. thank you. so glad your meds are helping you so much! 

Edited by WytchyWoman
  • Thanks 1