CrazyBoards.org

weight gain from low-dose risperidone?

echolocation

happy new year, all!

since i started taking risperidone a couple years ago, i've noticed some weight gain of one to two pant sizes. during those years i have been a full-time student, but my eating habits were quite good as i enjoy cooking and mostly ate a vegetarian diet to avoid cross-contamination concerns in a shared kitchen. i've been pretty active in the summertime both years, working a full time job that had me on my feet and moving all day. i walk at least once a day year round and do yoga on and off. these habits are pretty consistent with my lifestyle before meds, where i maintained my weight. my appetite has actually decreased from taking effexor, if anything.

basically what i'm saying is that there's no particularly obvious reason for me to have gained weight. that leaves me to suspects my meds. what i'm wondering is, is it possible to have weight gain as a side effect from 0.75 mg of risperidone? i thought that weight gain was more associated with higher doses. i also take 225 mg effexor (venlafaxine), but as far as i know, weight gain isn't a side effect associated with effexor.

i'm not looking for weight loss tips. i always strive to be healthier, but weight loss is not a goal for me. because of my obsessive tendencies, weighing myself is upsetting and causes me to ruminate, so i want to avoid that. i'm focusing on trying to explain the weight gain and coming to terms with it, and accepting that my body is a good body no matter its size.

hope you're all well. :)

I didn't gain any weight from low-dose risperidone though, for full disclosure, I was also taking Wellbutrin at the time. I don't know the answer to your question. Since we react differently to meds, I suppose it is possible to gain weight from low-dose risperidone.

2 hours ago, echolocation said: