CrazyBoards.org
Britton777

Provigil? Is this really for me? I’m so confused

Posted (edited)

Hi everyone. I’ve been bouncing from one trial of medication to another for the past 4 1/2 years with adverse reactions. Nothing has helped. I just saw a new psychiatrist on Monday. An older gentleman who actually seemed to listen. He was also a longtime professor our local university. 

My symptoms are treatment resistant insomnia, chronic, severe anxiety, chronic derealization, ocd (pure o) racing, intrusive thoughts (often presenting as songs looping in my head, but a switch can also go off in my head where I obsessively think about something to the point of it driving me crazy)  brain fog, depression. My body and brown simply will not turn off. I’m stuck in constant fight/flight.  I believe the lack of sleep is the catalyst for most of this (all of this started after sudden onset of insomnia) Maybe it wouldn’t go away with sleep, but I know it would get better. My main goal is sleep, but seems unattainable after 4 1/2 years.

I have tried every medication under the sun (well, mostly) 

The doctor decided to prescribe provigil (modafinil) which seems counterintuitive to me. He was clear that it could go either way. Possible that it could calm me down, possible that it could let me up and make my symptoms worse. 

Luckily for me, since I am highly sensitive to medication, he is quite conservative  and said to only start with roughly 1/16 of a pill to see how I do. 

Wondering what your thoughts are on this given my symptoms? Seems counterintuitive...but maybe it will help. So confused. 

Edited by Britton777

Seems like you should be trying something sedative if insomnia and anxiety are your main symptoms. But it could help your treatment resistant depression. Provigil had no effect on me so I will defer to others to discuss this subject. 

• Thanks 1

Posted (edited)