CrazyBoards.org

ADD symptoms and BP symptoms

This is weird-

Ok. I'm BP1. My main symptom is anxiety, and I also have psychotic symptoms of paranoia. My thoughts race at times, and at other times are dead. Sometimes I get lost in thought or cannot think. I forget what I was doing. I do not comprehend what people are saying. I have to write down everything and ask for examples to be shown to me a couple of times.

I'm not stupid, even though I feel like it a lot. I have a college degree and did well in school.

I'm wondering if my symptoms are from my BP or if I should ask my treatment team about possible ADD? I don't know enough about ADD to know if my symptoms could qualify. I just know my thoughts are uncontrolled and it is hard for me to work like this.

This is weird-

Ok. I'm BP1. My main symptom is anxiety, and I also have psychotic symptoms of paranoia. My thoughts race at times, and at other times are dead. Sometimes I get lost in thought or cannot think. I forget what I was doing. I do not comprehend what people are saying. I have to write down everything and ask for examples to be shown to me a couple of times.

I'm not stupid, even though I feel like it a lot. I have a college degree and did well in school.

I'm wondering if my symptoms are from my BP or if I should ask my treatment team about possible ADD? I don't know enough about ADD to know if my symptoms could qualify. I just know my thoughts are uncontrolled and it is hard for me to work like this.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I think the general rule of thumb is that if the symptoms can be attributed to anything known to

exist other than ADD, then that's probably where they come from.  If it comes and goes, it's

definitely not ADD... Remember, the original term was "minimally brain damaged" , as AD(H)D

pretty much presents the same symptoms as someone who's had her frontal lobes jacked hard.

There are a number of good books on the subject that you might benefit from reading. If