CrazyBoards.org

What do I need to know?

I work as a Senior Policy Consultant, I need my brain.  This is my biggest concern though I believe @aura has continued to function cognitively.

Pdoc wants me to consider Clozapine and I see him in two weeks to discuss.  Haldol was a wash so I'm restabilizing on Loxapine for right now.  

I know that:

-WBC, myocarditis, constipation, bed wetting (yikes!)

I have called pharmacies and found some that understand how to dispense it and the whole patient registry thing (is that just in Canada?).  I know weekly blood tests for the first six months, then every two weeks, then after a year monthly.  It's a pain but if it works I'm willing to do it.

Re:  weight gain and diabetes...so Clozapine changes the metabolism to burn fat, meaning carbs just sorta stick around and cause insulin resistance, correct?  I was thinking of trying to eat keto for this reason.  If I eat lots of greens etc. is this the wrong type of fibre or as long as I'm on the proactive laxitive, I'm okay?  

haven't taken it personally, but i've picked up from around here that drooling can be a common side effect as well, as well as sedation. also, i've heard plenty of people say that it's important to go up slowly. i know @Wonderful.Cheese had a tough time with side effects after a relatively fast taper up. i think @Iceberg also takes cloz and has done well on it.

it's definitely not an easy decision to make. keep us updated.

Clozapine saved my life. I'm not exaggerating. I'm back in school full time able to think and work with ease. I still have issues (see blog) but they are intermittent and don't last long.

The only two side effects i don't like are weight gain and drooling. But for me it's worth it. PM me if you want to know more!