CrazyBoards.org

Intrustive thoughts

I'm on Lamictal and Abilify for bipolar disorder, but I'm still having disturbing thoughts about getting injured or hurting other people.  I'm thinking these thoughts are compulsive in nature. 

Have any of you taken benzos to get rid of intrusive thoughts and did they work?

Well... behaviors are compulsive, while thoughts are obsessive. I'm no expert - especially in this area, but what you are describing sounds more like schizophrenia or psychosis, than obsessive thoughts. The diagnostic criteria for obsessive thoughts are:

1.  recurrent and persistent thoughts, impulses, or images that are experienced, at some time during the disturbance, as intrusive and inappropriate and that cause marked anxiety or distress

2. the thoughts, impulses, or images are not simply excessive worries about real-life problems

3. the person attempts to ignore or suppress such thoughts, impulses, or images, or to neutralize them with some other thought or action

4. the person recognizes that the obsessional thoughts, impulses, or images are a product of his or her own mind (not imposed from without as in thought insertion)

Benzos are generally used to treat anxiety/panic disorders. SSRIs are used to treat OCD (which you probably can't take if you're bipolar). I don't know what is used to treat mild schizophrenia or psychosis. On "ER" they always use Haldol. (Just a little reminder that not only am I not a doctor, I don't play on on TV, either). ;)

I have GAD, not OCD but we are both tormented with obsessive thoughts.

I agree with VE.  Effexor and low dose seroquel helped alot for me (but Effex also exabberated rapid cycling).  Remeron helped for awhile until it crapped out on me.  Remeron is a good one if you don't mind the weight gain.

Benzos are more of a take when needed for temporary relief, but not really a solution.