CrazyBoards.org

i don't "believe" in repressed memories

I hope this is the appropriate forum.  If it's not, please move my post to wherever it needs to be. 

I know that, scientifically, the concept of repressed memories has been both proven to be true and proven to not exist.  I have a degree in psych and my professors always taught me that repressed memories do not exist, and therefore I have always more or less believed that to be true.

This is a really hard thing for me to post, and just typing all of it makes me feel psycho, so please bear w/ me if I don't make total sense.

Basically what I am wondering - in the opinion of those who have experienced abuse, anecdotal evidence, whatever - do you "believe" that memories can be repressed?

I am asking because for years I have thought I was sexually abused as a child. 

I think this for many reasons, the first of which is **why else would I be certain it had happened?**

There are some signs:  PTSD symptoms throughout my life, self esteem problems, body image issues, a time where I cut whenever I was upset, inability to trust others, especially men, shame and guilt as pervasive emotions no matter how great my life is going, and sexual things:  I don't know how comfortable I feel putting them out here just yet, but I would be okay w/ PMing them. 

Confounding factors are certainly my (ex) alcoholic (ex) anorexic (ex) emotionally abusive mother and my absent father, being bullied in 6th grade to the point of changing schools, and being date raped at 17.

The thing is, I have *always* thought something happened.  Even as a younger child.

In 5th grade my grades dropped suddenly and nobody had an explanation.  At that same time I became depressed and suicidal (um, not so normal for a 10 year old?) and I got "caught" writing a sex story.